Boys a Fishing (stage 3).

Really struggling with this one!  I haven’t been observing the faces as closely as I usually do and hence have to make constant adjustments.  This means loss of freshness and spontaneity.  The boy on the left had to be wiped away and started again due to my lack of initial concentration.  Now with all the skin tones completed it’s time to paint the clothes which will become light relief.  The trouble with commissioned work you have to motivate yourself to find personal interest in the composition.  For me it’s the bloody fish, and I cant’ wait to paint it and make it punch out of the picture!  I must say that the pastels have been saving my life on this one!

Leave a Reply

